The Stages.

I always think of survivalism in stages.

Stage 1 is where i have everything that I could possibly want at my disposal.

Stage 1 would be, I’m at my fortified shelter with all my supplies stockpiled, etc.
Stage 1 in combat would be that I have my guns.
Stage 1 in fire starting would be that I have a lighter.

Stage 2 is where I have limited supplies.

Stage 2 would be where I have my ruck and the gear I can carry with me.
Stage 2 in combat would be that I have a knife or other primitive weapon. due to limited ammo.
Stage 2 in fire starting is that I have some mechanical means of fire starting, such as a flint and steel, or magnifying glass.

Stage 3 is where I have no supplies.

Stage 3 would be where for whatever reason I don’t have any gear.
Stage 3 in combat would be that I have to use hand to hand fighting.
Stage 3 in fire starting is that I have to use natural supplies, the bow method, hitting rocks together, etc.

In stage 1 you can see that the emphasis is placed on what you have. In stage 3 the emphasis is on your person skill’s; what you can do, and stage 2 is a mixture.

Leave a Reply

